The American Philosophical Association Fellowship

The American Philosophical Association (APA) sponsors one Visiting Research Fellowship per year at the Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities, the University of Edinburgh.

There is no funding associated with this award but the APA Fellow has a private office in the Institute, is a member of the Institute’s lively research community and has full borrowing rights at Edinburgh University Library. The Fellowship is for a period of 2 to 6 months. Applicants must be members of the APA. We would particularly welcome applications linked to the themes of the Institute Project on Decoloniality (IPD'24) taking place at IASH from 2021 to 2024. This project invites scholars from around the world to visit Edinburgh and conduct research on the theme of decoloniality, broadly understood.

Full details of the Fellowship and how to apply are published on the website of the APA. The deadline for the 2023-23 round is 15 December 2022.

Previous holders of the Fellowship include:

  • Prof. Samuel Fleischacker (Williams College), 1995
  • Prof. Thomas Olshewsky (University of Kentucky), 1998
  • Dr Allan Bäck (Kutztown University), 2004
  • Prof. Leemon McHenry (California State University Northridge), 2009
  • Prof. Paul O. Nnodim (Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts), 2010
  • Dr Christopher Mole (University of British Columbia), 2016
  • Prof. Thomas Williams (University of South Florida), 2016
  • Dr Marina Folescu (University of Missouri), 2017
  • Prof. Peter J. Graham (University of California Riverside), 2018-19
  • Dr Carrie Figdor (University of Iowa), 2020
  • Prof. Deborah Boyle (College of Charleston), 2021
  • Dr Ruth Boeker (University College Dublin), 2022
  • Dr Anthony Neal (Mississippi State University) is the 2023 Fellow.