A Future in Question: Higher Education and the Public Good

Event date: 
Thursday 2 July
Time: 
17:00
Janet Napolitano

IASH is delighted to present the international roundtable event, A Future in Question: Higher Education and the Public Good, on Thursday 2 July 2020 at 5pm GMT.

This virtual event will feature Janet Napolitano, president of the University of California system and the 2020 Fulbright Legacy Lecturer – a distinction given each year to a global leader by the US-UK Fulbright Commission and usually accompanied by a lecture series in the UK. Previous Fulbright Legacy Lecturers at the University of Edinburgh include David Miliband, Louise Richardson, Michael Ignatieff and Lord Stern.

Due to COVID-19, this year’s event will take place as a virtual conversation that will focus on the world’s immediate future and the role universities will and should play in shaping it. The discussion will include the Principal of the University of Edinburgh, Professor Peter Mathieson, along with the leaders of King’s College London and Merton College, Oxford.  

Panellists will answer questions from the virtual audience and also have a chance to delve into some of results from a new IPSOS Mori global survey on public attitudes towards higher education, conducted ahead of the event.

  • MODERATOR: Mukul Devichand, Executive Editor, BBC; Fulbright alumnus
  • HONOREE: Janet Napolitano, President, University of California
  • PANELISTS: Prof. Peter Mathieson, Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Edinburgh; Prof. Irene Tracey, Warden, Merton College, Oxford; Prof. Ed Byrne, Principal and Vice-Chancellor, King’s College London. 

Thursday 2 July, 5pm (UK) / 12 noon (US Eastern) / 9 am (US Pacific)

Registration required in advance: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_BkGOsQnkSmKsQTbzXeiMEg